Are you being selfish?

Are you being selfish?

 

What inspired me to write this blog today is a networking event I went to yesterday with my business partner Sandra.

As I was talking to another woman there, I realised that all the people get into entrepreneurship to do something they intrinsically love and are good at. These two facts are very important: you can be very good at something and not like it. You can be good at something and realise that it is not what you want to be or do.

So, I am asking you today: Are you being selfish? We do not like this word, usually, we get upset when someone tell us we are selfish but keep on reading please!

I believe each and every one of us is like a treasure chest and we have been gifted with an amazing treasure that needs to be shared with the rest of the world. (This is an extract from our Dress for Success workshop). Oh yes, I said shared. You see, your gift and talent are not for you alone! You are a vessel, you carry something that has been deposited into you for a greater purpose. You are part of a bigger plan, a universal plan!

I am a big fan of Michael Jackson and will always be, bless his soul! And I always ask myself what if he never sang, what if he never used that amazing gift God blessed him with? Oh how I am glad he did, and I am not the only one!

You see, your gifts and talents are your purposes, your reasons for being here at this very moment. For some of us, it is crystal clear but for others like me, it took 20+ years to find out… lol But the most important is to know that you have a purpose and ask God  or whatever you believe in what it is.

Now, why am I asking you if you are being selfish?

Do you cook fried chicken better that KFC? Do you have an amazing voice but lack the courage to sing out loud? Are you good at poetry? Is you hand a magic wand, you paint every day but keep everything in your cellar? Do you cook Colombo like nobody else on earth but cook only for your family? What is it that you do like nobody else? Because you know that nobody can do it the way you do it? Right?

You see, your poetry could soothe your neighbours pain, your project could save lives, your invention could change our world for the better, your song could save someone from suicide, I could go on and on….So are you holding up your gift? I know you are not selfish, take Courage, step out of fear and embrace your blessing so you can be a blessing to others.

Let me tell you that you are not alone, I am going to paraphrase this and I do not remember who said this but “if you knew who was walking beside you at all times, you would never be afraid”.

Be a living inspiration and live in the moment

Genevieve Muwana

Style Coach at Unique Image London

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Are you being selfish?”

Leave a Reply

